I Am Anonymous, Part 2-2: Motor Vehicle Assault

I AM ANONYMOUS2Waiting. Not having a car left me always waiting on everyone else. Joey was always running late. Sad part, this stop was on his way to school. We would be getting another tardy today. Two more tardies and I would be getting detention. Only one more detention and that would land me in school suspension on a Saturday. If father found out I’d be back to riding the bus. Not sure which one was worse. Joey’s bad driving or social suicide on public transportation, while all my other friends had their own means. Only freshman and losers rode the bus. I’d probably run the 8 miles before I bothered with the embarrassment. Joey would never let me live it down.

It was pointless waiting inside. Pacing on the vacant road I waited for Joey. Looking at my watch, then my phone. I had a nervous routine going on. Startled by the screeching of tires and the feel of a bumper against my back caused me to fall forward.

“What the hell were you doing in the middle of the road.”

Looking up into the sky the bright sun blinded me from seeing the girl who was hovering. The girl I saw from last night was pulling me up from the ground.

“Seriously you can’t tell me that little scrape has left you brain dead. Surely you were this way before I hit you.”

This sweet looking girl with the dangling long blond ringlets who stuck out like a sore thumb  was actually talking to me like this, after she just ran over me.”Excuse me.” I grabbed my bag. “I can’t believe you think getting backed into by a Hummer is nothing.”

She rolled her eyes. “Sorry. It’s just, you shouldn’t be in the middle of the road. Look, I’ll give you a ride to school. I just can’t promise we will make it on time.”

“Deal. Though if your reverse is anything like your forward I might want to invest in life insurance before you do any more damage.” I opened the door and hopped in.

“Something tells me your daddy has already invested in you.” She replied as if we weren’t cut from the same cloth.

“Well it takes one to know one.”

“You’re such a child. Let me guess your mommy does everything for you, bet she picked out that stupid shirt and tie.”

“Wow, you’re a real ball buster aren’t you.” I snarled. “If you must know, she’s dead. I’ve picked out my clothes since.”

It was quiet the whole ride. Joey called me but I ignored him.

“Sorry, about the whole mom thing.”

“That I believe.” We pulled into one of the farthest spots from the school. Everything else was taken.

“I really am sorry about backing into you. I get a little defensive sometimes.” I nodded my head in mocking agreement. “Do you think you could keep this between us. My mom would kill me.”

“Ok. How about I keep my mouth shut and you drive me to school for the next month. There and back.” I grinned charmingly.

“Black mail.” She acted appalled. “Surprised to see you have it in you.” She jumped out of the car. I was ready to run to the door but she took her time, I suppose we were already late. “How about 1 week.”

“You hit me with not just any car, but a Hummer, and you come back with a week. That is insulting. 3 weeks.”

“It was only a scrape. Technically you were jay walking. 2 weeks.”

“Fine. 2 weeks, and you have to bring me to work.”

She chewed the inside of her lip. “Okay, 2 weeks. And I’m only driving you TO work. Final offer.”

“Done. You do realize that the school uniform is mandatory, right?” I looked down at her loose bow tie, her unbuttoned shirt with a bright purple camisole under it. She wasn’t wearing stockings but instead purple knee-high sock with white sneakers. Her mandatory skirt was embroidered with several patches of logos from comic books.

“Distractions are a lot more fun then rules.” She laughed as we entered through the doors, drawing attention from one of the hall monitors who was sipping water.

“Detention.” The small boy walked over. One more detention and that was it. “You must be new.” The boy said looking at her purple socks.

“What are you staring at?” She snapped. “Should I be talking to the principal about your wandering eyes. I’m pretty sure they don’t give this kind of power to slobbering dogs.”

“No. I–” The boy tried to cut in.

“Either way I’m headed into the principles office, the question is whether you want to keep your respect by letting my friend go and bring me to the office or I will march into that office without you, and a few unpleasant words to share with everyone listening.” She talked so fast when she had to prove a point.

“Right t-this wa-y” The boy stuttered and started walking away as he ripped up his copy of my detention slip.

“I think this makes me and my big mouth even.” She turned around and stated before she walked off.

For a moment I helplessly stared after her. She wasn’t like most the girls I knew. It crossed my mind that I didn’t know her name. Headed into class I got the evil eye from Mr. Starson my math teacher.

“What happened.” Sophia whispered to me.

“Joey had car trouble.” She reached over and squeezed my hand.

“Why don’t you just let me pick you up.”

Only my man hood, I thought, as my girlfriend drove us around in a pink bubble gum toy car.

“I’m on Joey’s way.” I shrugged.

“Next time answer your text.” She let go of my hand and diligently took notes. Notes I would have to beg for later.

Ten minutes into a lecture on symbols and numbers, I wasn’t paying attention to any of it until the door creaked open. The girl walked in. I felt my face flush pink and my hands felt really hot. The metal arm holding the table seemed to melt beneath my skin. When I lifted my hand I saw that the bar had been bent, and when I touched it again, it burnt my skin.

 Authors Note: Please excuse any editing mistakes. This is complete improv, typed up a few hours before to show you my skills in hopes that you are interested in purchasing my published novels. A well-thought out science fiction/ fantasy entitled, “The Project E.D.E.N. Series”. Coming out in 2013. Support my works and publishing ventures on my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/theProjectEDENseries

Leave a Reply

