Success is Persistence

Following our dreams can be tough. All I ever hear from professionals in the industry of publishing when we first meet is BEWARE. People will always be quick to tell you what you can’t do. They tell me I won’t make a living off of it. They tell me 1 in a million become famous. They tell me that I will be lucky to get my investment back. All they feed me with is doubt. It starts to spin my mind and tell me what to expect. Driving me insane.

Then I remember they don’t know me. They think they do because they see me like everyone else. A number. I’m a number, but I am also more than that. I will just have to show them. It’s not like they have any idea about what they are talking about. They haven’t even touched the material I have produced. I also remind myself that though millions have failed to live or enjoy their dream, there are also the few of them, the ones that everyone initially doubted as well, that succeed. These people just don’t succeed. They change the world. They show those professionals who never made it that giving up accomplishes nothing. Dreams are made by people who never give up.

  • Anne Frank: Her diary had 15 rejections.
  • Babe Ruth: Had a home run record of 714 during his career 1330 strikeouts as well. For decades he held the record for strikeouts. When asked about this he simply said, “Every strike brings me closer to the next home run.”
  • Bill GatesDropped out of Harvard and started a failed first business.
  • Colonel Sanders: (Founder of KFC.) He started his dream at 65 years old and was rejected 1009 times before a restaurant accepted it.
  • Harrison Ford: Was told that he doesn’t have what it takes to be a star. What an idiot those people were!
  • Henry Ford: His early businesses failed and left him broke five times before he founded the successful Ford Motor Company.
  • Hillary Scott: Lady Antebellum female vocalist auditioned for Idol twice and never made it past the preliminary rounds. So she formed Lady Antebellum and won 5 Grammys this year, including Record AND Song Of The Year.
  • Lucille Ball: Her teachers thought that she was too shy and wouldn’t make it as an actress.
  • R. H. Macy:  Started 7 failed business before finally hitting big with his store in NY City.
  • Stephanie Meyers: Twilight was rejected (a few never responded) by 14 publishers before finally getting published.
  • Stephen King: Received 30 rejections for Carrie before it was published. We all know that became a movie later.
  • Steven Spielberg: He was denied by the prestigious University of Southern California film school TWICE. Instead he went to Cal State University in Long Beach. Doing pretty good!
  • Thomas Edison: Teachers mocked him, he was fired from his 1st two jobs for not being productive enough. He later found 1000 ways to not make a lightbulb, by 1001 he found genius.
  • Vincent Van Gogh: He only sold 1 painting in his lifetime to a friend and finished over 800 pieces. Now his most expensive painting is valued at $142.7 million.
  • Walt Disney:  His 1st animation company went bankrupt. He was fired by a news editor cause he lacked imagination.
  • Winston Churchill: Failed the Royal Military entrance exams twice.

It’s not foolish to go after your dreams in hopes that you are 1 in a millionth of a chance right about your work,passion, and skill. Not if you keep everything else grounded, stay persistent, and always have a back-up plan. It worked for them. Why not for me or you?

Leave a Reply

